Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Native American Lit Book Club: A HISTORY OF MY BRIEF BODY, by Billy Ray Belcourt

June 1 @ 7:30 pm

Our next read for Native American Literature Book Club, hosted by the Center for Poets and Writers at OSU-Tulsa, is A HISTORY OF MY BRIEF BODY, by Billy Ray Belcourt.
From the Publisher, Two Dollar Radio:
For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.
Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.
Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.
Our friends at Whitty Books have A HISTORY OF MY BRIEF BODY in stock. We’ll see you there!

Venue

Whitty Books
2306 E Admiral Blvd
Tulsa, OK 74110 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(918) 921-4030
View Venue Website